Skip to content

Daddy coloring

March 20, 2012

The other day while I was at work, my darling husband took the girls for a nice walk down the street to the store to pick up an energy drink–a serious necessity that day evidently.  While there, he decided to buy them each a coloring book.  But what made this event forever memorable in my mind was not the sunny afternoon, or the walk, or the joy my daughters had in their daddy time.  Oh no, it was what I came home to witness.

I will preface this by stating that my daughters are almost three and a half and a little over two–neither are particularly well known for their attention spans, although they are both well within the normal range on that respect.    That having been said, I was not prepared for the sight that greeted my arrival home.  There was my darling husband all by himself, sitting at the kitchen table, coloring…  My daughters had long since lost interest in their coloring time with daddy and had scampered off to other activities.  Mostly this meant upending the living room, as usual.  But my husband, who has an impressively intense focus when he begins a project, simply had to finish his page.

Unlike my husband I seem to color all the time.  In fact, loathe though I am to admit it, I was known to color upon occasion even before the arrival of my children.  After all, it was shortly after my marriage that my husband observed that I was definitely ready to have children since I already had the complete Disney movie collection.  But I have never colored a page like he did.  As usual, his creativity and attention to detail put me to shame.  I feel blessed to know that my daughters will have some creativity passed on to them from both sides.

From → Motherhood

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

