Skip to content

Experiments with Pot Roast

April 23, 2012

The thing about me, is I never manage to really maintain a well-stocked kitchen for cooking despite my best efforts.  I also am an impulsive cook.  I might think ahead enough to thaw out the meat I want to cook, but most of the time I haven’t the foggiest idea what I’m going to make until it’s time to make it.  So, consider me befuddled for a moment when confronted with a thawed out and gorgeous beef roast and trying to figure out what to do with it minus a few of my traditional pot roast ingredients.  The solution is a pot roast of my own making, and I can honestly say it turned out really well–at least according to myself and my family.

Actually, in all honesty, I cooked it just to temp so it was almost more like an oven baked steak this time rather than a fall-to-pieces pot roast.  I decided I love that about it, so I will do it again.

First, I combined sea salt, a few dashes of pepper and garlic powder into a mixture that I coated the outside of the roast with like a rub.  Then, in a few tablespoons of vegetable oil, I seared it over the oven at medium heat.  Using a cheap but tasty Merlot I have discovered, I deglazed the pan:

I probably used about a half a cup of Merlot.  To be honest, I’m horrible about measuring things, which is probably a trait I’m going to have to fix if I want to keep writing about this stuff…  Nevertheless, I tend to lean on the “can’t have too much wine” side of the spectrum when making these kinds of sauces.  Into this goes a couple of tablespoons of Worchestireshire sauce, a little more salt and pepper, and, brace yourself, cream of celery soup undiluted.  Strange, I know, but I was seriously low on ingredients and I thought I’d give it a shot.

The sauce ends up rather chunky, because of the celery pieces, but it has a nice consistency.  Once it is reasonably liquefied, I poured it over the roast and then dashed a little fresh ground pepper/garlic on it.  (Somewhere there is a foodie dying in agony as they read about the way I cook.  Oh well.)

I use a nice nest of organic carrots to elevate the roast (before pouring on the sauce), and then add onions and red potatoes, as well as a few bay leaves.  I pour in some water until the carrots are covered, cover it with tin foil and cook it for about an hour and a half.  Technically, I cook it until my oven thermometer says it has hit 160 degrees and then I pull it out and poke it a few other spots to make sure that is true everywhere.

I let it sit for a little while to cool down, and also because that helps the meat retain moisture, then I slice off a slab of beef and transfer it to my cutting board to mince into toddler size pieces.  Not very elegant, I know, but such is dinner at my house.

For all that I am a patchwork quilt of cooking skills–untrained and undesiring of serious training, this dish (like most others I cook) turns out really well and is delicious to not just me, but also my foodie-minded husband.  He loves my cooking, so long as he doesn’t have to see how I do it…

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. A woman after my own heart! Exactly the way I cook. Sometimes it’s great and sometimes it’s a disaster……..sometime I will have to blog about my “taco chicken” recipe that is the family joke. Love the recipe enough (and have all the ingredients) that I will probably make it very soon! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

