Skip to content

Zucchini Bread

April 29, 2012

One of the recipes I inherited from my father, passed down from several generations, was a simple but delicious zucchini bread.  When I went to the local farm for u-pick tomatoes a little while ago, I also picked up three humongous zucchinis from their farm store.  It’s hard to beat the farm-direct price when they are in season.  I finally got around to doing something with the first zucchini tonight.  To give a little perspective on the size of these monstrosities, one zucchini made a full double batch of  my usual recipe with some left over.  Grocery store zucchinis tend to be one per batch or more.

Like all of my favorite baking recipes passed down in our family, this recipe is not particularly healthy by modern standards.  I, on the other hand, am a firm believer in the principle that natural foods always trump artificial alternatives, so I guess it is somewhat debatable.

Zucchini Bread–the Old fashioned way

3 eggs

1/2 c lard (yes, actual lard–usually only sold by the tub in the shortening section)

1 teasp vanilla extract

2 c zucchini

1/2 teasp baking powder

1/2 teasp baking soda

1/2 teasp cinnamon

1/2 teasp salt

2 c sugar

3 c flour

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Grease bread/muffin pans.  Cut up and add zucchini to the food processor and essentially liquefy it.  Measure lard into microwave-safe bowl and melt until liquid.  Pour it into the mixing bowl and add eggs, vanilla extract and zucchini.  Mix.  Add baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and sugar, and mix again.  Measure in the flour while mixing to ensure even distribution.  Then, pour the mixture into the bread pan or spoon into muffin pans until about half full.  Bake it about 45 minutes to an hour for a loaf of bread or about fifteen minutes for muffins.  I prefer to stick a toothpick in to see if it is done–if it pulls out cleanly, it’s done.

The way my family taught me to bake is almost the exact opposite of most recipes–I was taught to melt the butter and lard and put all the liquid ingredients together first, then any spices and baking soda/powder, then bulk ingredients.  This ensures maximum evenness of ingredients throughout the batter.  It may not be the best way of doing things, but I’m sticking with the way I was taught.

Total yield for tonight’s doubling of the recipe:  one loaf of bread, and about two and a half dozen muffins.  They freeze well, so I’ll be bagging up some for freezing and keeping the rest in the fridge for breakfast for the week.

Yes, all I had left were Halloween muffin papers…

From → Baking, Food

5 Comments
  1. Love a girl who uses lard!! 🙂 Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

