Skip to content

Toddlers and Vegetables

May 14, 2012

One of the things that I am most proud of in my journey through motherhood is the fact that I have two toddlers who eat their vegetables.  And the easiest way I have found to get them to do so is also one of the easiest ways to throw together a meal for a family in no time at all–entree salads.  I have become the master of entree salads, which we eat probably two to three times a week during the work week.  They are easy to make, I can make a large variety of them, and they are very healthy for a little body.

Some of my favorite ways to make an entree salad, and some of their favorites to eat, include:

1) tex-mex chicken salad

(think corn, black beans, cheddar cheese, black olives, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, green and red pepper, and a salsa-ranch dressing made with half mild salsa and half lite ranch)

2) raspberry/walnut/blue cheese salad

(all of the above plus lettuce and raspberry vinaigrette)

or tonight’s special–a very simple salad with balsamic vinaigrette.

I use chicken from rotisserie chickens I buy at the grocery store, usually on sale.  The chicken is often enough for two dinners, it is often the same price as buying the same chicken raw, and the left-over carcass is perfect for making my own chicken stock.  Tonight’s salad was comprised of organic spring mix, rotisserie chicken breast, tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced almonds and a balsamic vinaigrette.  It was delicious and light and took about five minutes to chop up and throw together.  Both of my toddlers had seconds.

And to top it off for dessert, I gave them organic vanilla yogurt mixed with a small spoonful of my homemade, home-canned strawberry sauce.

The best things about these meals are their overall healthiness, the simplicity to throw together, the small number of dishes that need to be dealt with, and the totally satisfaction of watching your toddlers dive in to a plate full of vegetables.

From → Food, Motherhood

2 Comments
  1. Hi there! liked your post. I also have 2 kids who love healthy food. I have actually very recently created a blog on their favourite recipes and posted them. please do visit http://www.smallmeasuresbigpleasures.wordpress.com would be great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

