Skip to content

Chicken Chili

June 5, 2012

One of my favorite recipes is also a very healthy one and one that my children adore–chicken chili.  It is pretty easy, cooks in a reasonable amount of time, and is extremely healthy.  And my toddlers love it.  I started with a Barefoot Contessa recipe on foodnetwork.com, but have modified it slightly.

Ingredients:

about five medium yellow onions–chopped

1/8 cup olive oil

1/8 cup minced garlic (I use the pre-minced kind for ease)

2 red bell peppers

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes

2 teaspoons sea salt

2 cans of diced tomatoes (or, as I prefer, 2 pint jars of home-canned tomatoes)

1/4 cup minced fresh basil leaves or 1/2 teasp of dried basil

1 rotisserie chicken worth of meat

Cook the onions in the oil until translucent, then add the garlic and cook for one minute, then add the pepper and spices and cook for another minute.

Add tomatoes, bring to a simmer, and cook for about twenty minutes.

Add the rotisserie chicken meat and simmer for another twenty minutes.

I prefer to serve mine over a 1/2 cup of brown rice.

The big differences in my version are my use of home-canned tomatoes which cannot be beat for flavor, and my lazy use of the meat off of a rotisserie chicken.  I am a big fan of this–when I get them on sale they are cheaper than buying a whole chicken and it is so easy to use.  Plus, I almost always throw the chicken carcass into a stock pot with carrots, onion and celery and make my own chicken stock.  (If you haven’t done this, you must!)

The best part of this recipe is how eagerly my children gobble it up.  Any time I can provide them with something really healthy that they really love, I feel like I’ve had a huge victory.  Oh, and did I mention this recipe reheats really well for lunch the next day?

From → Food, Motherhood

2 Comments
  1. That looks delicious and look at those eager eaters!

    • It is really good. If you like Indian food at all, the cumin gives it an almost curry-like flavor. Both girls gobbled it up.

Leave a Reply

