Skip to content

Canning Raspberry Dessert Topping

June 12, 2012

I ran across this wonderful recipe on Ball’s recipe site, and decided to give it a try tonight.  It turned out absolutely awesome, and now I’ve got four pint jars of deliciousness to enjoy over the course of the next year!

First, get the water bath canning water warming, then mash about 4-5 half pints of raspberries to get about 4 1/2 cups of crushed red raspberries.

Then, add four tablespoons of lemon juice, pour it into a large saucepan.  Combine the six tablespoons of pectin powder and 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder into a bowl, whisk together, and add to the raspberry lemon mixture.  Mix well and bring it to a boil in high heat.

Then, add six and three quarters cups of sugar all at once, return the mixture to a full boil and let it boil hard for 1 minute.  (You shouldn’t be able to stir away the boil).

Remove it from the heat and skim off any foam that has formed.  (Or as I prefer to think of it–skim off the scum).  Pour into your prepared canning jars leaving 1/4 inch of head space (jars, lids and bands should be warm in simmering but not boiling water), wipe the rims, remove any air bubbles, and add the lids and bands.  Jars should be processed for 10 minutes in boiling water.

Although the recipe indicated that I would get about 3 pints of topping, I actually got four full pints.  I started off with slightly more raspberries than the recipe called for, though, so I adjusted the recipe as I went.  Although my final result is in the process of sealing and cooling, I can say that the remains left in the bottom of the pan tasted delicious, and I am eagerly awaiting an excuse to pop open a jar.

Canning is getting easier and easier and I am also falling more and more in love with it.  Canning allows me to buy high quality produce in bulk and to preserve it all the while knowing the nutrients are getting locked in and no artificial chemicals or additives are being added.  I am saving a ton of money through canning now that I no longer have to buy jars every time I can.  But by far the best part is how amazingly delicious everything tastes.  My family and I are still popping open jars of pineapple chunks from my canning rounds a few months ago, and every time it smells and tastes like I just cut open a fresh pineapple.

The hardest part with this batch of canning will be to decide whether I want to drizzle the results over cheesecake, ice cream, fruit, yogurt…

From → canning, Food

5 Comments
  1. This sounds pretty darn amazing! Cocoa Powder – who knew? I may have to try this with bing cherries when they get ripe. Thanks!

  2. Did you find any recipes that featured less sugar? It sounds great and the raspberries look beautiful – but I’m discouraged to try because of all the sugar

    • I didn’t look, to be honest, but I’m sure there are low sugar versions out there. This recipe is pretty rich, though, so I intend to only use a little bit at a time which made me less concerned about the sugar content than I otherwise would be. Most canning recipes can be modified by using no/low-sugar pectin as opposed to regular pectin. Pickyourown.org has some information on that.

  3. That looks absolutely divine… Phillipa

    • It’s pretty good. 🙂 It’s really good on vanilla bean ice cream–we tried chocolate first and that was good but it’s really good on the vanilla. I highly recommend making yourself a batch.

Leave a Reply

