Skip to content

Blueberry Jam

June 25, 2012

Although Florida blueberry season has passed, we are being inundated with bountiful and inexpensive blueberries from other states.  So, in addition to the blueberry syrup I already canned, i decided to give blueberry jam a shot.  Like most things canning, it was easier than I expected.

I started with about one pound of blueberries.  A pint is usually about 3/4 pounds, so I used about a pint and a third because I didn’t want to drag out my kitchen scale.

After washing the blueberries and removing all stems, I crushed them into a pulp.    The crushed berries should measure about 2 cups.

Then, I put the crushed berries in a saucepan with 3 1/2 cups sugar, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1/4 ground cinnamon, and 1/8 ground cloves.

I brought the mixture to a boil, then added 1/2 a box of sure-gel pectin and returned it to a rolling boil for 1 minute.

Then, I quickly skimmed off the foam (skimming the scum!), and ladled the mixture into my sterilized half pint jars, leaving about 1/4 inch head-space and wiping the rims.  The jars only needed processed in the water canner for about five minutes.

The smell of the fresh blueberries cooking is heavenly, especially with the whiffs of cinnamon and cloves coming up in the steam.  And the rich indigo color of the jam is wonderful.  I’m trying to decide what types of dishes I want to serve this with, because it should definitely be something special and not just a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  Any suggestions?

From → canning, Food

2 Comments
  1. Looks great! I’m getting cheap blueberries here too. Made my blueberry lemon jam this weekend…………so refreshing!

Leave a Reply

