Skip to content

Homemade Apple Chips

July 10, 2012

I’ve always wanted a food dehydrator, although I have never gotten around to getting one and, in fact, do not have one to this day.  Despite this, after reading about drying fruit in a few books I decided to give oven drying a shot and made my own apple chips.  The process is incredibly easy.  Simply slice fruit as thin as you would like (trying to get the same thickness), spread the slices on non-stick cookie sheets, and put in a pre-heated oven at 170 degrees with the oven door cracked open.

That having been said, here are a few thoughts that came out of the process of trying to do this myself:

1) This may be one of those rare occasions where it makes more sense to buy store-bought, high quality organic apple chips than to try to make them myself.  A five pound bag of apples only yielded the equivalent of around $3 worth of store-bought apple chips, and the bag cost me almost $4.  Doing it myself makes much more sense if I am growing the apples myself, u-picking them or buying them at a bulk discount.

2) It takes a very long time to oven dry and is probably a pretty inefficient use of resources.  This project makes total sense in the dead of winter when the extra heat coming from the oven is heavenly.

3) A food dehydrator is definitely the way to go on this project.  I will probably not be trying this again without one.

4) Despite the instructions saying that I would want them chewy, I ended up pulling them out too soon, so they are more mushy than chewy.  Again, it takes a pretty long time to dry them properly, and patience is a virtue.

All of this having been said, they tasted delicious, although not necessarily better than a high-quality, organic store-bought bag.  I’ll probably stick with buying those on sale for now.

From → Baking, Food, Motherhood

6 Comments
  1. I love this post! I, like you, am not afraid to post something that I changed my mind in the middle of! I’ve done alot of smoking and then dehydrating vegetables and while it takes time in the dehydrator, it’s not as altering as having the oven tied up (and cracked open) for hours on end…. and you are correct, sometimes, it’s just better to buy it.

    • Thanks for your feedback! I guess the benefit of picking the name best intentions is I get to blog about it whether I succeed or fail. 🙂 It’s not very often that I decide not to do something homemade going forward but, for now, this is definitely one of those cases.

  2. but you’ve got to try doing these things- just so that you know……..(Phillipa)

  3. I invested in the Excaliber 9-tray dehydrator several years ago and it’s been one of my best kitchen tools. I make most of my own dried herbs, and I dry fruits and vegetables. We dried wild morel mushrooms this year and they are awesome stored dried and added to dishes and stirfry meals. The book that came with it has numerous ideas for drying various items, and non-food uses. I can’t rave enough about the Excaliber!

    • Thanks for the suggestion! I will definitely look into it. Although, I just read an article about building a solar powered dryer, so I might try that first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

