Skip to content

Selling Jam

July 16, 2012

This last week and a half was my first foray into the world of selling my preserves.  When I started canning, I had no intention of trying to sell anything I made, nor had the thought even entered my mind.  But I have received so much interest in what I am doing that I finally decided to sample some coworkers on a few jams, and I also brought some to a community yard sale I was taking part in on Saturday.  The results exceeded my expectations and have made me rethink if canning might not be a way for me to, at least, fund my own pantry.

I guess I shouldn’t have underestimated the power of all-natural, no artificial anything added, home-made jams.  The first time I tried canning, attempting strawberry jam but ending up with strawberry syrup, despite it not setting properly the flavor was so delicious that I declared then and there that I would never buy such things from the store again.  And ever since that first attempt back in February, I have canned anything and everything I can get my hands on inexpensively (so long as it hasn’t required a pressure canner).  Somehow, though, I had never quite connected that others would taste one spoonful of the way food is supposed to taste and find it irresistible to buy.  And now I have people, after only a week and a half, quickly emptying jars and coming back for more.  It is truly amazing.

It has made me think a lot about real food, and what food is supposed to be as opposed to what we have made food into.  I have recently run across a quote by Sir Albert Howard from 1940 which I found very thought-provoking:

“Artifical manures lead inevitably to artificial nutrition, artificial food, artificial animals, and finally, to artificial men and women.”

Although my jams are full of sugar, they are also so full of flavor that it takes one fourth as much swirled into plain yogurt or spread lightly on toast.  I am beginning to realize how totally artificial and over-processed our food is, just in the simple act of canning up a batch of my own cherry raspberry jam or sliced pineapple.  And that is without even limiting myself to only organic (due to cost).

I am delighted in the jam sales not just because they are beneficial to my family’s finances, but because it serves as a small affirmation that I am not alone in being able to instantly taste and recognize the difference of what food is supposed to taste like.

From → canning, Food

One Comment
  1. Yayyyyy! Fantastic, good luck with your new venture. It’s all upwards from here. (Phillipa)

Leave a Reply

