Skip to content

Spiced Nectarine Jam

July 31, 2012

Before I tried a batch of nectarine jam, I thought I didn’t know what Ambrosia–the food of the Norse gods–tasted like.  Now I do.  This jam is hands down the most delicious thing I have made yet.  It tastes almost like peach cobbler but with that distinctive nectarine tang to it.  Utterly delicious…

It is a fairly simple recipe, although not quite as straightforward as some–such as a strawberry jam.  But it is well worth the extra little bit of effort.  In addition to the normal canning supplies (with about 8 or 9 half pint jars fully sterilized and prepped to be filled), you will also need the following ingredients:

6 cups skinned, pitted, chopped ripe Nectarines (mine were right at the peak of season)

1/2 cup packed, light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

5 cups sugar

1/2 cup lemon juice

2 boxes pectin (1 box is sufficient if you want more of a syrup consistency)

1/2 teaspoon butter

Mix the sugar and spices in a large bowl and set aside.

In your pot, mix chopped nectarine, lemon juice, pectin and butter.

Stir constantly as you bring it to a boil over high heat.  When it is at a full, rolling boil add the sugar mixture and stir it well.

Bring it back to a full boil and let it boil hard for 5-6 minutes, stirring constantly.

Remove it from the heat and “skim the scum”–use a stainless steel spoon to skim off the excess foam.  Pour it into your jars leaving a 1/4 inch head-space and process in the water canner for about 15 minutes.

This recipe had me not only licking the spoon when I was done but scraping out the bottom of the pot for every last drop of goodness.  Slight modifications to this recipe would probably make an excellent pie filling or cobbler, which I will probably get around to trying if I can find nectarines or peaches this ripe again.

Until then, I will be happily diving in to my new jam…

From → canning, Food

4 Comments
  1. I’ve never tried nectarine jam but yours looks so good! I think I may have to try some of your recipe!

  2. Is this safe in the water bath canner? It has added oil to it (the butter) which would mean that it would change the pH of the whole jar. It would not be as acidic…therefore, should you not pressure can this recipe?

    • Perhaps, although the recipes I based it on did not use the pressure canner and I have not had any issues. My suspicion is that although the PH may change, the nectarine’s are acidic enough to compensate.

Leave a Reply

