Skip to content

Reboot: our family goes primal

January 6, 2013

Friday i found myself sitting next to a box of cookies in the cubicle next to me, and I did not feel the least bit tempted. Less than a week after beginning to eat Primal, and whatever mild craving my body might have felt was totally overruled by how amazing I felt without eating all the junk our world has to offer. I felt, and continue to feel, energetic, happier, and (at the risk of sounding cliché) more alive. It is hard to describe how different I feel without sounding like a living advertisement. I literally had no desire to dive into the box of cookies next door, even though a week before I would have had little ability to control myself.

But after six days, here is a basic rundown of the effects I have noticed:

1) I have lost six pounds. Without exercising more than usual—in fact, given the holidays I have probably exercised less.
2) My skin feels better—smoother, softer, more moisturized. I have always struggled with very dry skin, but I have also always hated moisturizers. My skin feels dramatically different.
3) My double chin is beginning to disappear.
4) My body feels more “even-keel” throughout the day. When I get hungry now, there is no accompanying nausea or light-headedness. My lifelong battle with hypoglycemia appears to have vanished in a matter of a few days without grains or processed foods.
5) My head feels clearer. I am having an easier time concentrating at work. Obviously, this is huge.
6) My attention span seems longer. I am not finding myself so easy to distract, nor so desiring of a distraction.
7) I feel more alive. I don’t feel sickly. I don’t feel as if I’m on the verge of contracting something. I don’t feel weighed down and narcoleptic. I barely need any caffeine anymore, and when I do my small glass of green tea is more than enough.
8) At the end of the day, I find I can fall asleep with amazing speed.
9) I’m keeping up better with my children. I don’t feel three times my age anymore, struggling to keep up with two energetic toddlers. I am optimistic I will continue to see improvements in this area and maybe, someday, I will be able to give them a run for their money.

It sounds almost a little ridiculous, but everything seems better. Unlike every other diet or regimen I have ever tried, I am not hungry, full of cravings, or exhausted. It is remarkable. And the best part is, this is a family affair.

In addition to my husband’s gluten issues, we had begun to notice my oldest daughter complain of stomach aches after eating wheat heavy meals. My husband has a genetic pre-disposition for Celiac disease, so it seemed a likely cause of her discomfort.

I also knew, with certainty, that I was on the path for eventual diabetes. My first pregnancy I was gestation-ally diabetic, and coupled with my extra weight, hypoglycemia and insatiable sweet tooth
, it seemed somewhat inevitable. I also found myself getting sick frequently and feeling perpetually rundown. At thirty one, it just didn’t seem like this was how life was supposed to be. And truthfully, after reading and researching as much as I have on nutrition and food production in the last year, this path was probably inevitable.

A week before New Year’s Day, I cut off the soda. I knew that would be a difficult enough transition, and I was right. Thank God for being on vacation. Then, on New Year’s Eve, I made the full transition to my new primal diet:

No grains except a ten percent max cap on rice and rice noodles (no wheat, oats, barley, corn, etc.)

No seed oils (vegetable, canola, etc.)

No processed foods/sugars and as few chemicals as I can manage

Local/organic/pasture-raised sourcing to the best of my ability

The big exception: dairy. My family has no issues so we are not excluding it

My mother’s first question after a few days primal was how the kids were adjusting. Pretty well, actually… We have always cooked a lot of things that were low gluten, thanks to my husband, they love vegetables, they love the new juicer, and they are generally pretty good natured kids. (We won the battle over picky eating early, thank goodness). Time will tell how they fully adjust. For now it has been a wonderful adjustment.

I am so excited to begin this journey as a woman, wife and mom who has nothing but the best intentions.

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

